• hr
  • en
  • de
  • it
  • ru

Customs and Trade Policy

On the 1 July 2013 Croatia will become a member of the European Union and a part of the European Single Market. From that day forward Croatia abandons her own tariff and trade system as well as free trade agreements with other countries and embraces in full the EU trade policy.

With the accession of Croatia to the European Union all bilateral and multilateral free trade agreements that were concluded by the Republic of Croatia will cease to be in force. Especially important is the CEFTA Agreement as it ensures more favourable conditions for export to the markets of CEFTA signatories than those that the European Union has for these markets.

As in the previous two enlargements, the EU will start consultations with the CEFTA countries with which it has concluded Stabilization and Association Agreements (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia and Serbia) for negotiations on the conclusion of additional protocols. The interest of the Republic of Croatia is to transfer to the greatest possible extent trade preferences that it now has with those countries in the framework of existing agreements in order to mitigate the changes of export conditions to some important trade partners of the Republic of Croatia upon entering the European Union.

With membership in the European Union, new markets will open for Croatia since it will implement free trade agreements that the European Union concluded with third countries.

For more information on custom duties please visit the Croatian Customs Web site.

For more information on trade policy please visit the State Office for Trade Policy Web site.